End of a book : Johnny in Novell

Last day in Novell.

Started out as an intern in the GNOME team about 5 years back. Jumped between Evolution and iFolder a few times for different (voluntary/involuntary) reasons. Met a lot of good engineers. Had both good / bad times. Learned a lot work / non-work.

Gnomers,

I loved working on Evolution, Evolution MAPI (may not be perfect, but had a awesome time with it And i’m yet to cash in on the few beers i’ve been offered), Attachment Reminder (Trivial, but looks like you guys liked/hated/loved it), Redesign of Evolution search bar and so on. Best bug that I’ve worked on so far was changing a ‘1’ to ‘-1’ in EText (Oh those early days! Had no clue what GDB can do.. Used hundreds of ‘printf’s, lots of coffee and tested the patience of office night guards and that adrenalin rush!). Thanks to Novell for the opportunity to contribute full-time and getting paid for that.

Special thanks to my mentor Srini. I’m looking forward for more new awesome fun things in GNOME.

Thanks.

I’ll miss the 1-1 coffee breaks talking games/gadgets/music, discussions on research papers that I don’t have a clue about, conversations during ‘tea breaks’ outside office (you would see me very inspired/productive after those sessions), thursday nights 😉 & nice friends that I found beyond ‘work’.

The End.

13 Comments

  1. Vincent Untz says:

    I’m sad to see you leave. I wish you the best for what comes next for you!

  2. Vijesh says:

    Best wishes for all you are upto!

  3. Rajeev says:

    All the very best, dude.. !!

  4. Srini says:

    All the best for your next job. You are one of the good guys I’ve worked with. Glad you aren’t going far 😉

  5. Sorry to see you leave. The attachment reminder saved my bacon a few times 🙂

  6. Thanks, it was fun!

  7. Srikanth says:

    Good luck & Keep up the good work 🙂

  8. Stephen Shaw says:

    Sorry to see you go. All the best!

  9. GARY EKKER says:

    Best of luck. You did a great job with evolution, I always enjoyed working with you!

  10. Johnny says:

    Thanks! 🙂 A lot!

  11. saravanan says:

    kalakura mapla continue

  12. saravanan says:

    great mapla kalaku da

  13. Nagappan says:

    Wish you good luck in your new job !

Leave a Comment