Johnny [Life & Code]

Semper Exploro!

Mystical Mullayanagiri

with one comment

When I saw a mail in  BBC from Cycling And More (CAM) about a ride to Chikmagalur, thanks to the caffiene in me – was so excited and started to pull in people. Punya and Me signedup immediately and was waiting for the day.

Day 0

Action started a little early. Friday evening, I was getting late at work and had to deliver a package to my brother. Already late, I decided to use the Bike (fastest during peak traffic) and went around. Asked my bro to wait for me on the main road. A brief drop (felt like a environment friendly drug dealer on a bike :))  and I was on the way to the meeting point and made it on time. Meet other riders, loaded the bike and found my seat.

Day 1

Sleep deprived the previous days, I slept like a tree log. Thanks to CAM for arranging a comfortable bus. Woke up at 4 AM, bus stopped at Shalkaleshpur. Zombie walked to a hotel. Around 7ish – the adventure began. Started a bit late as I had to fix my rear wheel hub. Route was lovely. It was simply green. Enjoyed riding through some slushy area. Went off-course a little and reached the breakfast point. Punya’s bike got quite a bit of attention for it being one of a kind😉 . By then, some faces were becoming familiar – Mohan, Biju, Arvind R, Arvind N, Manjula …

The real test started. There was a steady climb for several KMs .  The group thinned out . Finally Me and Arvind R teamed up. Few kilometers before Chikmagalur saw Manjula and Arvind N tailing us. All four of reached Chikmagalur on schedule. I should say that riding in a small group is more fun than chugging alone. During lunch, ‘Iron man’ Mohan and Ram joined us. Other riders were reaching Chikmagalur .

We were all pumped up looking at the hill that we would be climbing – Mullayanagiri. It was about 20 kms of pure climb. Took some pit stops during the climb. But the last 2 KM killed my spirit. Nothing left in my body, I was worn out. Stopped for a while. Recovered a bit and reached the top. By then Mohan, Manjula, Arvind R, Arvind N were at the peak already. Downhill ride was fun!

Rode about 110 kms.

Day 2

Did a leasurly ride to Belur. Rode with Punya through the lake and sunflower fields. Belur temple is Wow! Spent a little time there . Many started the second leg of the day – to Hassan. We (not Punya) decided to skip. Hopped on the bus. Sleepy … Woke up in Bangalore.

More pictures – http://picasaweb.google.com/johnnyjacob/MysticalMullayanagiri#

Some more here – http://cyclingandmore.com/previous-rides/july-2010-chikmagalur-mullayanagiri/

Written by Johnny

July 22, 2010 at 10:09 am

Posted in cycling, LIFE, Travel, Trek 3700

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Booked for this ride about a month back. Punya also signed up for this. It was a fantastic ride and the climb to Mulayanagiri was epic. (considering that fact that I’m totally out of shape) More… […]


Leave a Reply

