Johnny [Life & Code]

Semper Exploro!

openSUSE 11.1 on PS3

with 9 comments

Woohoo ! After a long delays and issues (in the last few days) I’ve managed to install openSUSE 11.1 in my PS3.  Running a full blown desktop is very sluggish. Reminds me of my first computer (amdk6 500mhz). Some screenies :

6 SPEs

Now onto get the Cell SDK running … Synergetic Processing Elements (SPE) here i come !

Written by Johnny

July 4, 2009 at 10:41 am

Posted in CODE, GNOME, LIFE, Linux Fun, PS3, suse, Tech

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My friend is waiting for Ubuntu to Just Work on his PS3.. should he just use Opensuse instead? How many problems did you have?

    ethana2

    July 4, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    • i’m not sure what problem you are facing with Ubuntu. But openSUSE install was easy (I didn’t do anything special). I didn’t run GNOME Desktop much. I’m interested in the programming part, so all i need is just a console 🙂 . HTH.

      Johnny

      July 5, 2009 at 6:50 am

  2. Pretty sweet!

    How did you install OpenSUSE on it, are there are any easy-to-follow HOWTOs?

    Miguel de Icaza

    July 5, 2009 at 3:50 am

    • @Miguel : en.opensuse.org/PS3 was all i needed. It is pretty straight forward.

      Johnny

      July 5, 2009 at 6:47 am

  3. Cool stuff!

    Suresh Jayaraman

    July 5, 2009 at 7:49 am

  4. Did you use HDMI display? I heard looong time back that, it is easy using that than SDTV.

    Nikanth

    July 6, 2009 at 6:08 am

    • I’m using HDMI out ( have a DVI HDCP compliant display. so a HDMI -> DVI)

      Johnny

      July 6, 2009 at 8:27 am

  5. I found I had to either turn off Nepomuk in KDE or use Xfce as all the memory was used up.

    Did you find the icons change colour – the reds and blues swap?

    purple-bobby

    July 8, 2009 at 11:49 am

  6. […] Johnny Jacob: openSUSE 11.1 on PS3 on Planet GNOME […]


Leave a Reply

