Johnny [Life & Code]

Semper Exploro!

Who is stealing (eating) my disk space??

with 3 comments

Everybody knows (i mean most of the users) that a Linux box is haunted by mysterious daemons. They are invisible, invincible and sometimes do a lot of weird stuff!.

Recently i’ve been facing “No disk space” problem with my $HOME. It happens every two weeks after i cleanup. I’ve been using the same $HOME for around 1.5 years (3-4 upgrades/installation). I cleaned up all the unused applications “.$application” directories.. nope .. not much changed. Then when i was cribing about this to srinidhi over lunch, he suggested me to take a look at “.beagle” . And yes he was right ! I have a 25GB /home and “.beagle” was using 11 GB of it 😦 . Looks like it maintains a mirror of my $HOME!!

Bad daemon beagle ! There should be a option to set the maximum cache size that beagle can use or some interface to check how much diskspace beagle is using for cache !

Written by Johnny

December 15, 2007 at 4:42 pm

Posted in CODE, GNOME, Linux Fun, Mono

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha ha.. 11 GB .beagle for 25GB ~home. Yep, my experience with beagle was also not good. Resource intensive too!
    So the first thing I do after install is disable beagled 😉 find and locate works serves my purpose..

    Suresh

    December 17, 2007 at 8:08 am

  2. Hehe … yes:
    zypper remove `rpm -qa | grep beagle`

    Is my first move right after install …

    JanSimon

    December 20, 2007 at 10:36 pm

  3. 🙂

    Johnny

    December 21, 2007 at 12:51 pm


Leave a Reply

